Posted by: pjgron | February 25, 2009

Five Things About – Living on a Submarine

peteatperiscopeBeing a little slow, it took me six years out of high school to realize that I needed more training than a high school diploma.  So with no money for college, the US Navy seemed like a good way to go.  The recruiter in Sandusky asked me, “Do you have anything against nuclear power?”  This was shortly after Three Mile Island melted down their core, but remember, I’m a little slow on the uptake, so I said, “No, not at all.”  So I ended up on the ballistic missile submarine USS John Adams (SSBN 620B).  So here are five things about life on a submarine:  

1.      When underway, we generated our own oxygen.  No lie.

2.      We worked in six hour shifts, so our days and nights were all screwed up.  I still wake up at odd times, dreaming that I’m late for watch and I’ve been out of the Navy for nearly twenty years. 

3.      We drilled our butts off.  If we weren’t running drills in Engineering, we were running weapons drills or drills for fires, floods, and all sorts of mayhem. 

4.      Everyone was always tired and cranky.  You’re living inside a steel tube with a bunch of guys from all different backgrounds.  It gets a bit testy at times. 

5.      Except for marrying the love of my life, it was the best thing I’ve ever done.  It straightened out my life and gave me direction. 

catnapMilitary life isn’t for everyone, not even me.  After eight years, I’d had enough.  But it gave me the tools I needed to focus on my future.  It gave me the experience I needed to establish a solid foundation for my career.  It also made me appreciate the sacrifice that so many have made, with their blood, to make this country the greatest country in the world.  Whenever you have the opportunity, please thank a veteran for the freedoms you now enjoy.  Don’t let well meaning politicians strip our freedoms away. 

Pete Grondin – Author of A Lifetime of Deception

Responses

  1. I think we should have a new law that no U.S. president should be allowed to serve in office unless they’ve served in the U.S. military. Thank you, Pete, and everyone else who has served in our military.

  2. Hi Pete
    Surprised you remembered that old tin can. Great to hear your doing well


Leave a Reply

Categories

